

BOARD OF ELECTIONS
Matthew M. Damschroder, Director Dennis L. White, Deputy Director

For Immediate Release April 23, 2007

FRANKLIN COUNTY TAKING STEPS TO ENSURE VOTER PRIVACY

(Hilliard)— Franklin County Board of Elections Director Matt Damschroder assured voters today that they will have privacy at the polls when they cast ballots in the May Primary/Special Election.

"Your ability to cast a secret ballot is paramount. The training that we provide to poll workers guarantees that you alone can see the decisions you're making as you vote on Election Day," Damschroder said.

At a training session for poll workers in Hilliard, Damschroder and others used electronic-touch screen voting machines to demonstrate what voters and poll workers can do to prevent others from seeing votes being cast. Purchased last year, the electronic machines replaced older models surrounded by curtains. The new machines are equipped with plastic shields on each side that voters can adjust for greater privacy. Poll workers are also instructed to place the machines at angles against walls or to provide sufficient space between them to ensure privacy.

"A survey we conducted last year shows that eight out of 10 voters prefer our new machines, but we understand that some people are more comfortable with voting behind curtains on the older models," Damschroder added. "That's why it is so important for our poll workers to arrange voting machines properly so that voters can concentrate on the ballot and not worry about their privacy."

The polls will be open in Franklin County from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., May 8. Local issues will be on the ballot in Gahanna, Hilliard, New Albany, Reynoldsburg, Upper Arlington, and Whitehall and also in Jefferson, Mifflin and Truro Townships.

Media Contact: Ben Piscitelli Public Information Officer Franklin County Board of Elections 614.462.5351 bjpiscit@franklincountyohio.gov

FRANKLIN COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS 280 East Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 462-3100 (614) 462-3489 FAX www.FranklinCountyOhio.gov/BOE BOARD MEMBERS William A. Anthony, Jr., Chairman Michael F. Colley, Esq. Kimberly E. Marinello Carolyn C. Petree