

BOARD OF ELECTIONS
Matthew M. Damschroder, Director Dennis L. White, Deputy Director

## LOCAL ISSUES DOMINATE BALLOT IN FRANKLIN COUNTY GENERAL ELECTION

## For Immediate Release Nov. 7, 2007

**(Columbus)** Franklin County voters turned out for a General Election yesterday that featured a levy to support County services to senior citizens and candidates for Municipal Court judge on the ballot countywide in addition to many more local candidates for mayor, city council, school board, various township offices, tax levies and liquor options.

Unofficial results show a turnout of 210,043 voters, 27 percent of 776,794 registered, with 176,895 voting at the polls and 28,648 others\_casting absentee ballots; some of which remain to be counted under extended deadlines for military personnel, their families and other registered Franklin County voters living abroad. Those ballots must carry yesterday's postmark and arrive at the board no later than Nov. 16. Voters who had moved without updating their registration with the board of elections or who did not have the required identification necessary to vote a regular ballot, cast approximately 4,500 provisional ballots.

Eight hundred fifty-four precincts were staffed by more than 5,100 poll workers including hundreds of Democrats who supervised polling places as presiding judges for their first time due to their party's sweep of all but 22 Franklin County precincts in the 2006 gubernatorial election.

The Board of Elections is required to begin its canvass of all ballots cast by eligible voters by Nov. 21 and certify official election results no later than Nov. 27.

Unofficial returns are posted online at <u>http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov</u>

Media Contact: Ben Piscitelli Franklin County Board of Elections Office: (614) 462-5351 Cell: (614) 425-7171 bjpiscit@franklincountyohio.gov

FRANKLIN COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS 280 East Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215 (614) 462-3100 (614) 462-3489 FAX http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov BOARD MEMBERS William A. Anthony, Jr., Chairman Michael F. Colley, Esq. Kimberly E. Marinello Carolyn C. Petree