

http://Vote.FranklinCountyOhio.gov

(614) 525-3100 (614) 525-3489 FAX

BOARD MEMBERS: Douglas J. Preisse, Chairman * Bradley K. Sinnott, Esq. * Kimberly E. Marinello

DIRECTOR: William A. Anthony, Jr. DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Dana Walch

For Immediate Release Feb. 17, 2015

Primary Ballot Set

(Columbus) Franklin County's ballot for the May 5 primary is official. The lineup of candidates for local offices and issues was certified by the board of elections this afternoon.

Forty candidates were certified for the primary. Thirty-eight others advanced to the general election in November because they were unopposed or because they are candidates for judge who are nominated by petition alone and never appear on a primary ballot.

There are no countywide issues at stake in May, but there will be local elections for municipal offices, tax issues and liquor options. Columbus will hold non-partisan primaries for mayor, council and school board. Gahanna will have a non-partisan primary for mayor. Reynoldsburg will hold a Republican primary for city council, president of council and for city attorney. The number of candidates isn't large enough to require a Democratic primary in Reynoldsburg. There's also no need for a primary to narrow the field for city offices in the Village of Brice, Hilliard and Whitehall due to the number of candidates who've filed.

Five special elections will appear on local ballots. Hamilton and Perry Townships and the Village of Valley View will have tax levies for police protection. Fire levies are at stake in Madison and Plain Townships. A tax levy for current expenses will be on the ballot in the Village of Minerva Park. Sixteen liquor options will appear on local ballots as well.

The board granted conditional certification to two candidates. James Ragland for Columbus Mayor and Johannas Christian for Columbus School Board will be added to the primary ballot if a review of their petitions finds they've submitted enough valid signatures. Petitions for neither candidate were checked earlier when it appeared each would be disqualified; Ragland because a member of his nominating committee lived outside Columbus and Christian for missing the primary filing deadline by minutes.

Three candidates, Doylene Williams for Columbus Council, Robert Stepp for Hilliard Council and David Nixon for Whitehall Council, were not certified because their nominating petitions lacked valid signatures or because of other errors. One issue, a liquor option in Columbus precinct 18-a, was not certified due to a lack of valid signatures.

A complete list of certified candidates and issues will be posted on the board's Web site at <u>http://vote.franklincountyohio.gov</u>

Voters must be registered by April 6 to be eligible for this election.

Media Contact: Ben Piscitelli, Franklin County Board of Elections (614) 525-5351 bipiscit@franklincountyohio.gov